Student Design Contest Entries

Our Student Design Contest is an opportunity for Graphic Design students to showcase their talents to the industry. This is an exceptional opportunity to practice your design skills in real life – following a job from brief through to print.

This year’s theme is ‘Darts in Disguise’  – a fun twist on Where’s Wally, but using a paper aeroplane (known as a dart). Download the logo from the button below and disguise the dart into an original piece of work – illustration, graphic design, photography, etc. We should be able to find it in less than 30 seconds, so don’t make it too hard! You can hide multiple if you want to give the viewer a challenge as well as an easy discovery.

This year we have gone trans-tasman with BJ Ball teaming up with Ball & Doggett. Each winner walks away with a $100 prezzie card as well as artist profiles on various social media channels, and in our bi-annual GSM magazine. There will be 9 winners from each country, and our top 3 favourites from each country will be featured in the other country’s calendar as well, meaning even more exposure!

This year’s Judges are:

NZ Judges: AU Judges:
Chris Flack, Strategy, CHCH Paul Garbett, Garbett Design, SYD
Mike Tisdall, Insight Creative, AKL Lindsay Tucker, AGDA President, BRIS
Annie Dow, Dow Goodfolk, AKL Courtney Newman, Ball & Doggett, SYD

Entries close: Sunday 4th September 2022

Winners notified: Friday 23rd September


As paper companies, we want you to tell us what paper type will match your design – they aren’t all white!. Chat with your tutor to see samples. The options are:

Advance Laser 240gsm / Supreme White Uncoated WF 250gsm
Silk High Gloss 200gsm / Silk HD Gloss 210gsm
Magno Plus Satin / Hannoart Plus Silk 250gsm
Trophee Intense Yellow 240gsm / Kaskad Canary Yellow 225gsm
Kraftpak Kraft / Buffalo Board 225gsm

File Requirements:
High Res print ready pdf in CMYK to a size of 380mm x 260mm (landscape)
Artwork can be illustration, photography, graphic design, or a mix of all three. File size is capped at 10Mb, and please check the T&Cs to ensure your design does not breach copyright rules.

How exciting! We are looking forward to seeing your artwork.